EY to give Adi Godrej Lifetime Achievement Award

07 February 2020 Consultancy.in 3 min. read
More news on

EY is set to honor Adi Godrej with a Lifetime Achievment Award at the upcoming 21st EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards. The Godrej Group Chairman will be felicitated on the 19th of February, alongside a number of firms that have achieved remarkable success over the course of the last year.

The Godrej Group was established in 1897, and has since grown into a $4 billion conglomerate with operations across the globe. The company deals in consumer goods, real estate, appliances and agriculture among a range of other areas, and has become something of a household name in India.

Adi Godrej, 77, has led the company from strength to strength during his tenure as Chairman, thriving in India’s vibrant fast moving consumer goods (FMCG) market. The billionaire was responsible for most of the Godrej Group’s international expansion, and global practices now make up 25% of Godrej’s total operations. Most of this expansion has come in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Godrej has been recognised widely for his contribution to the Indian and international business environment. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2012, and named the Best Businessman of the Year at the GQ Men of the year Awards in 2010.

EY to give Adi Godrej Lifetime Achievement Award

EY is now set to recognise his work again mid February, this time in the form of a lifetime achievement award. Godrej has also previously been named the Entrepreneur of the Year by EY in 2012.

Top entrepreneurs

On the day, the Big Four accounting and advisory firm will  also honour a number of other companies for their outstanding performances over the course of 2019. A vibrant entrepreneurial environment in india has thrown up several suitable candidates for the award.

225 candidates were nominated for the award, and 17 have been shortlisted to be the finalists, including KBS Anand from Asian Paints, Peyush Bnsal from Lenskart Solutions and Yashsish Dahiya from PolicyBazaar, among several others. The shortlist was prepared by an eight-member panel.

Uday Kotak, Managing Director & CEO of Kotak Mahindra Bank, headed the jury. “I have been associated with the awards for several years and every year I am amazed at the outstanding quality of entrepreneurs from across sectors and regions, he jury process has a lot of rigour and independence with significant analysis that makes it an exhilarating experience for everyone on the jury,” said Kotak.

“Our finalists have shown a clear strategy, steadfast focus on staying relevant for their customers and a commitment to creating long-term impact. Their commitment to high governance standards as also to driving innovation in not only customer acquisition and experience but also in achieving operational excellence, differentiate them in their respective sectors,” he added.